GAIL’S SERENITY GARDEN

The Secret Garden

During one of my many visits to Anderson’s La Costa Nursery in Carlsbad. I was inspired to create a Secret Garden. Andersons has a fascinating Secret Garden. The perfect place for mine was on the opposite side of the house from the Meditation area.

The sunny very warm spot challenged me to find plants that could take the heat and be beautiful too.  I planted a graceful princess plant and trained it into a tree. Princess plants have delicate deep purple flowers. I added a sun fuchsia to attract humming birds and butterflies.  To help make it look “secret” I found an archway with a gate at Home Depot and planted a pink jasmine vine to drape it. I love the fragrance that comes from pink jasmine. However, I’ve had quite a time keeping up with the weeds. The minute I turn my back, foot high weeds appear almost overnight.

I decided this is definitely a “work in progress.”

Gail Manishor, RScP and author of
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life
Seaside Center for Spiritual Living in Encinitas, California.   http://www.seasidecenter.com/    

 

Leave a Reply

