BLESSINGS

 

Then it Happened!

“Every problem has a gift for you in its hands.”
Richard Bachman

In From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life, I wrote about the blessings that come into our lives in so many ways that we take them for granted, and so don’t acknowledge that they are blessings. It is important that we recognize and are grateful for any and all blessings. It is important because it raises our level of consciousness to a higher degree. It is imperative to our feeling of well- being. We are happier because of them. Blessings come in many forms. Sometimes they may come as people  just passing through in our lives. Or these people may be angels in disguise. Here is my story.

My garden needed attention badly and I was beginning to fall way behind. There were weeds everywhere, and my Secret Garden looked as if it should be kept a secret. “What am I going to do?” I asked myself.

And then it happened.  A couple of times a year we have a friend who comes to wash our windows. One day he brought a woman with him to help him out. I heard her chatting  as they worked. She had a Southern drawl and a happy attitude. But she talked a lot. I stepped out in the backyard to see how things were going. She said, “I do weeding too.”

“You do?” I asked. “Can you come tomorrow?” She could and she did.

This chance meeting has turned into a true blessing in my life. Not only has a wonderful friendship developed but a “Garden Angel” has come into my life. She began by cleaning up one area of the garden after another, making suggestions along the way. She is also an accomplished photographer and has made some wonderful slide shows of my garden in progress which I will include. My garden is becoming the “showplace” of the neighborhood. It is now our Peace Garden.

I soon found my “Garden Angel” had a mind of her own. She began placing uniquely shaped stones in our garden. “Do you mind if I cut this branch off?” She’d ask. “See, it lets the light shine through if I hold it back like this. I’m just saying…” 

One day my “Garden Angel” brought me a beautiful crystal for my office. “This will cast a star across you while you write” She said.

This is the way everyone’s life can work when we listen for “the still small voice (of God).” It is when we pay attention to the Divine spark within that we change and grow.  Because of the prayer, study and meditation that is my spiritual practice, my life has started working for me. Things often fall seamlessly into place in wonderful and apparently magical ways. Of course, there is no magic about it! This is the way everyone’s life is meant to work. When we go within and listen, we hear the music of the Divine symphony.

Share your blessings in the “Comments” section below.

To see the garden when my “Garden Angel” was just getting started and how she dealt with the steep embankment, click on the link below: (Please be patient, it’s worth the wait).
Gails Garden 8-22-09

Gail Manishor, RScP
Author of
From Here to Serenity
A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life

http://gailmanishorsite.com

Buy the book link:
http://132132.myauthorsite.com/index.php?page_id=264

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jules
    May 21, 2010 @ 16:48:06

    Dear Gail,

    What a beautiful place you have so lovingly created for us all to enjoy. Thank you so much for sharing your peaceful garden with us, I hope that it brings you an abundance of love and joy each day. My heart smiles when I read this wonderful blog.
    Namasté …
    Jules

    Reply

  2. Marie Wyrauch
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 08:00:17

    Hi Gail,
    Loved this mornings writing and Garden Angel’s Pictures. What a wonderful way to start the day.
    Thank you.
    Love Marie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

