STRENGTH & DETERMINATION

Gain Strength & Determination

        

Are strength and determination innate in each of us? In From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life, I discuss strength and determination. In Chapter 3, Will My Child Live? I wrote, “I learned I had the strength to do what was necessary to take care of our daughter by taking one step at a time. I surprised myself with the inner-strength that I had.”       

When Bill and I married and I moved into our home, I brought a very large staghorn fern with me. The staghorn fern’s foliage consists of several fronds which resemble stag antlers. In nature it grows on a tree, sending its roots into the bark. Bill and I decided to mount the fern on the tree outside our garden window where we could see it often.       

However, a “morning dove” decided this would be a perfect place for her nest. I was concerned we wouldn’t be able to water the fern with the dove nesting there and tried to discourage her. But she was determined to protect her nest at all costs and refused to go somewhere else to build her nest. No matter what happened she continued to sit on her nest.       

Most parents have a deep sense of determination and strength when it comes to seeing to the welfare of their children.       

Just as the morning dove was determined to stay with her soon to be born babies, so I sat with my child through her illness no matter what happened. She was in the hospital for three long months going from one crises to the next. One disaster followed the last. She didn’t want me to leave her even for a moment so I stayed by her bedside for 12 hours a day.  It’s what a mother does.       

Dove

Dove Nesting in Staghorn Fern

 

I invite you to comment with your story of strength and determination.       

Gail Manishor, Author of
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life       

From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life

      

Buy the Book:
http://gmanishor.com/index.php?page_id=264       

Leave a Reply

