GAIL’S SERENITY GARDEN

 WAR & PEACE

 
 
I know it’s a title from a famous book. It’s also a contradiction in terms. I also thought of that James Bond movie To Live & Let Die. I’ll tell you why.       

It’s not all peace in Gail’s Peace Garden today. There are a multitude of rabbits eating, no devouring lawn and plants in our quiet neighborhood. When I first moved into our home there was a beautiful unspoiled canyon across the street. However, it was spoiled a few years ago when the money-grubbing city council decided to let the money-grubbing builders fill this once beautiful area with homes. Where once rabbits, coyotes, hawks and other animals lived there are now houses and apartments. What used to be beautiful green is now stucco. Sad but true. We should be taking care of Mother Earth. Instead we continue to overbuild. It’s all about GREED.             

Today I saw the white cottontail of a “cute little bunny” hopping across my flowerbed. A year or so ago we had chicken wire installed into the ground around the yard to keep these cute little herbivores out and my beautiful plants alive. However, the neighbors (not the ones with the weeds) on the other side of the house have had a major beautification done. This made a few places on that side of our yard easy access for rabbit entry.              

After seeing the cute little cuddly looking furry creature hopping away I decided it was WAR! I went out and started putting bricks wherever it looked as if they could gain entry. We awaited their next move.             

We didn’t have to wait long. I went to Seaside Center for Spiritual Living for the Going Deeper Wednesday Night Service. After the service I came home to a disturbing scene.  As I drove into the driveway, I saw a cute cuddly rabbit making a late night snack of my favorite succulents in my Desert Garden. Even though it was dark I ran in and grabbed the “harmless to  rabbits” repellant and poured it around perimeter of the desert to save my plants.             

I know there’s a spiritual lesson in here somewhere, but right now I’m not in the mood to write it. Maybe it’s patience, love or live-and-let-live. I’m sure it will come to me.             

                    

 

    

 

   

  

Gail's Desert Garden

 

              

    
Gail Manishor, Author of
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transformation
Buy Gail’s Book:  http://gmanishor.com/index.php?page_id=264      

     

 
seasidecenter.com              

          

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darlene
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 11:11:41

    Thanks for leading me to your beautiful blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

