SPIRITUAL WISDOM

Inner Peace

             

MaMa Hummingbird on Nest

 

Photo by DeLynn Hood            

Most parents try to be and give to their family everything that they themselves did not experience from their own parents. They struggle to give their family what they did not have. We all have tried to do that with our own children. You can succeed in some areas, but it’s impossible to succeed in all.            

We all keep trying to improve ourselves and our lives as we learn and grow. Think how wonderful it is to be able to be at peace so completely and to have let go of any feelings of discomfort that are left over from a previous marriage or relationship.            

This is an important lesson I would like to share with you. While I never had hate for anyone through my divorce, I was not quite completely comfortable either. I have worked for peace and joy throughout the years. It wasn’t easy, but finally at long last I have attained that peace I have wished for and worked for all of my life. I am now fully relaxed and can be my authentic self wherever I am. I don’t have to try anymore. I just am. I am so grateful for that blessing. Life doesn’t stop when you reach a certain age. Age has nothing to do with it. Age is really not important because we are eternal beings. I can now say that I feel comfortable and at ease in my own skin, as they say. This is one of the greatest triumphs of my life.            

“That’s great for you”, you might say. “But how can I attain that peace and that attitude?” I’ve come to realize more deeply than ever that we are all One in God. We are all expressions of the Creator. There are no barriers between us. Through study, meditation and prayer you can find that peace and serenity you long for. As I wrote in my first book, it takes perseverance and it depends upon how much you want it. Are you willing to make the effort and do the work required?            

What you must do takes persistence and dedication.            

First – Read whatever spiritual and motivational books that call to you.            

Take classes and workshops designed to make you the person you want to be.            

Study, learn and live the life. Walk the talk – meaning live your life in integrity. Do the right thing whether it is small or large. There is no big or little in the One Mind. This is a 24 hour 7 days a week job.            

Did I say it was easy?            

You may have heard all of this before, but it doesn’t make it any less true. That’s okay. Maybe the way I say it will resonate with you.            

Meditation is sitting in quiet contemplation and listening for the still small voice within.            

Prayer is praying rightly. It is in believing that your prayer is already answered before you even ask. It is not by begging, pleading or bargaining with God that you can attain the peace you want. It is by asking, knowing it is already given that you become the master of your life.            

If you are willing to do the work, you will reap the rewards.         

Gail Manishor, Buy Gail’s Book: gmanishor.com/index.php?page_id=264

Leave a Reply

