SPIRITUAL WISDOM

 I Am That

“The basic lesson I’ve discovered in my personal search for help and one that gets me through difficult circumstances is that God is not a God out there somewhere, remote in His heaven. God is Spirit, and God is right here. God is “closer than our very breath and nearer than hands and feet,” and wherever we are, God is there with us. ”
Gail Manishor, Author of
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life
http://www.gmanishor.com/

Quan Yin
in Gail’s Serenity Garden 
               

Many of us have searched for more meaning in our lives. This inevitably leads to a search for God. In our search we find something that brings us to a deeper realization and awareness of the Divine within each of us. Meditation is the key that opens the door to our awareness of the Presence that is within. In his book Practicing the Presence Goldsmith recommends meditating four times a day. Right away that thought can knock us out of the ballpark. We can’t possibly meditate four times a day. Some of us are challenged to meditate once a day. However, twice a day might work. There are many different ways to meditate. There is a Buddhist meditation which calls for putting a smile into each part of your body, a smile even into your liver. How healing that can be.

In Elizabeth Gilbert’s wonderful book Eat, Pray Love I found a mantra she used and tried it myself. It was simply “Ham-sa,” which means “I am that.” For as it is often said “God is closer than hands and feet, nearer than our very breath. “I am that” goes to the heart of it. God simply is. In the realization that if God is, and we are created by God, we come to the realization of “I am that.”

Affirmation
I am one with the God that simply is. I am that.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sueokieffe
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 07:08:42

    Beautiful words to read first thing upon awakening. I can’t quite imagine meditating 4x’s a day. Sometimes in my art I am aware of that meditative state. I know I feel better when I do.

    Sue

    Reply

  2. gailsserenity
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 08:32:15

    Glad you enjoyed “I am that”
    I do know what you mean about being that meditative state of inspiration. That’s exactly what it is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

