PRACTICE

Practice, Practice, Practice

    

“To live a joyful life takes work. It takes practice to watch our thoughts, but we can do it if we really want to. It becomes easier with time until it’s a habit to look for and see the highest and the best in every person and in every condition.”
Gail Manishor, Author of
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life
http://www.gmanishor.com   

St. Francis

 

Photo by DeLynn Hood   

Everything seemed to happen in a year: my mother’s illness, rapid decline and transition, relationship misunderstandings with family and severe back pain finally resulting in major surgery leading to more pain and then depression. How do we climb back out of the depths? How do we find the peace we once had or possibly never had?   

I began by rereading Practicing the Presence by Joel Goldsmith. This book which had once carried me through one of the most difficult and challenging times of my life now was to come to my rescue once again.    

“At first, this is all in the realm of the mind, but by constant practice, it leaves the realm of the mind and comes down into the heart, into the awareness, into consciousness, and then it takes over and lives our experience.” Joel S. Goldsmith, Practicing the Presence   

I did all the things I knew to do. I went back to writing in my Gratitude Journal, spent wonderful nurturing time in my garden. I admired God’s gift in each plant and even talked to the tiny humming birds. At last the curtain lifted and Spirit’s gifts were once again visible to me. Spirit had never left me. The gifts were always there. I knew all of this and I knew how to get back to that place of awareness of the Divine within me waiting to be recognized.   

Ernest Holmes wrote, “To practice the Presence of God is to awaken within us the Christ Consciousness.”    

The answer is always within. The answer is always in the practice of our spiritual path through meditation, prayer and spiritual reading and being grateful for what we have.   

Affirmation
Today I meditate, pray and practice the presence of the Divine Spirit within me.   

Gail Manishor, RScP

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sueokieffe
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 14:31:03

    Nothing like a little chat with hummingbirds to lift us out of the doldrums. Great post today. I’m starting to look forward to them now.

    Reply

  2. gailsserenity
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 17:40:09

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying them. I love writing them and hearing from you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

