SERENITY GARDEN

War & Peace (Continued)

or The Love / Hate Relationship 

 

The cage arrived yesterday. It’s called a Haveaheart cage. It’s complicated. According to the directions rabbits don’t like apples after all. Now I’ll have to eat the apples my husband Bill brought home. They like raw vegetables. My Garden Angel had a dream last night that we caught a rabbit and she called this morning to see if she needed to pickup the rabbit to release it in a safe place. Yes. Angels do use the telephone and this one even has a cell phone. Alas we didn’t get the cage up and running yet.

Here’s what a mama and baby look like. You can see why we don’t want to kill them. This picture makes you want to feed them. I wonder if the artist Sue O’Kieffe has a rabbit mandala. I know she loves nature and would be glad I’m trying to save the rabbits.  Check out her Blog on
http://sacred-circle-mandalas.blogspot.com/ 

My Garden Angel and I scouted out the perfect wilderness area to release our rabbits. They’ll like it there.

Cage arrived and  isn’t that easy to set up. I hope it’s worth all the trouble.

First night: Cage is empty. We’re going to move it to another location.

Second night: We changed locations. Cage is empty.

Third night: We changed locations again. Cage is empty, but carrot is gone.

Sunday morning. Just figured out what happened to my Bleeding Heart plant that has completely disappeared. The rabbits loved it! I had been wanting a Bleeding Heart Plant for years and finally bought one. Oh Well!

Sunday Night: We worked to see that the cage is set up properly, put a carrot in it. We’ll see what happens.

Monday Night: The Garden Angel decided we needed a “Buggs Bunny” carrot. She fluffed up her wings and flew to the nearest market where she bought a bunch of big carrots ( that smelled like carrots) with the green tops still on them. She was back in a flash and set up the carrot in the cage. Bill and our Angel set up the cage with one door closed so there was no quick exit. We waited.

Tuesday Morning:  No rabbit, but the carrot was still there. This is one smart rabbit!

Tuesday Night:  Bill tried another spot for the cage with a fresh carrot.

Wednesday morning:  Zero, Nada. But the carrot is still here.

Friday pm. My Garden Angel came over for dinner tonight. Yes, Angels do eat. She decided to try her luck with the cage. She cut the carrots up and made a little path with sliced carrots which lead to the door of the cage. “I think I really did it this time. I’ll call you tomorrow to see if I can pick up the cage for our first rabbit release.” Yes. Angels do use the phones sometimes.

Saturday a.m.  The carrots were gonzo but no rabbit. Needless to say my Angel is quite despondent and her wings are sagging a little. Bill has had it with this cage and is now going to send it back to Home Depot.

Friday morning: I’m upstairs in my office writing and look down and see – Guess what! You guessed it! A cute little rabbit eating! I run downstairs and he runs behind our plum tree. I go over to see where he is and he runs and dives through a hole he’s dug under the fence and is in the neighbor’s backyard. I am back to applying the rabbit repellent again which makes me sneeze.

Gail Manishor, Author, Licensed Practitioner and Frustrated but addicted Gardener

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sueokieffe
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 12:54:39

    it sounds like the cage is defective. smart bunny. I’m slsoimpressed that you have a high tech angel. i guess they need to evolve just like the rest of us, eh?
    when i was a little girl, i remember we had problems with a rabbit in our garden and my mother used chewing tobacco as a repellant. i dont remember if it worked. i do remember a bunny nest in the garden. those little babies are awfully cute.
    but i wonder if there aren’t other ways to repel rabbits..maybe herbs? have you talked to other gardeners?
    oh, and no rabbit mandala. an interesting idea though. first i gotta catch me a wabbit!!
    sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

