POEM

If I Were My Mom

I would always listen to my daughter’s sound advice,
If I do, she says everything will turn out nice.

I’d have cataract surgery so I could more clearly see,
then I’d do more than vegetate in front of the TV.

I’d read lots of books,
I’d know what cooks.

I’d wear a hearing aid and I wouldn’t miss much,
I’d pick up the phone and keep in touch.

I’d have a manicure, pedicure and a massage,
and after that I’d sweep out the garage.

I’d use all my money until there’s none left,
and when I’m called to task for it, I’d pretend I’m deaf.

All kidding aside, my mom is great,
at 90 she still wears a perfect size 8.

She took care of my dad until he was 80,
she really is quite a fine lady.

She cooked, canned and baked,
made all of our clothes,
and did it in full makeup, a dress and nylon hose.

To give her full credit, just to show off,
she had a special knack,
she can lie on her back,

put her feet over her head and touch her toes to the floor behind her with ease,
If I were my mom I’d do exactly as I please.

Gail Manishor, March 26, 2004
I’m not a poet as you can tell
but I love my mom and I love her well.
My mom made her transition at 91.
We all miss her.

Dear mother does my garden remind you of yours?

Gail's Garden

 

Gail Manishor, Author of
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform your Life
www.gmanishor.com  

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce Barrie
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 19:47:28

    Dear Gail, Love your blog. Love this post and poem about your mom. Your garden reminds me of your moms. Hugs, Joyce

    Reply

Leave a Reply

