HOLIDAY JOY

Tis the Holiday Season

and I Am in Bliss

 

Yesterday I woke up happy and grateful. As many of you do, I meditate daily and it was just one of those days when I was in bliss.

I drove to a local art and hobby supply store to pick up colors and gifts for my little granddaughters. I had already gotten them each a mandala coloring book and I carefully chose the perfect twistable colored pencils and marker pens. I’m coloring a mandala for each of them that I plan to put in the mail today. I had just gotten into a long line at the checkout when a clerk came up to me and said directly to me, “This line is for returns only. If you don’t have a return, go over to my line.”  So I went and got in the line she indicated and I was next when a pretty young woman in her late 20’s or early 30’s came and shoved in front of me. She said, “I was in front of you in the line.”

I smiled and said, “I didn’t mean to crowd in front of you.” She said, “There were a lot of people in front of you, but you just made a beeline over here.”

I smiled and said I was sorry. I whispered, “I have a little stomach problem, so I wasn’t thinking about who was in front of me.”

She responded, “Other people are busy and have things to do. You aren’t the only one in the world. I have to pick up my children at nursery school.” I continued to smile. Nothing could upset me. I was happy. So I said, “You’re absolutely right.” However she continued her tirade and finally finishing her transaction and feeling proud of herself for putting me in my place with a few final parting words, she flounced off.

I knew she thought she was taking charge of her life and putting me in my place. I didn’t care. I was in bliss.

After I paid and started walking to the car the clerk came out and said, “I’m so sorry that woman yelled at you. She had no right to do that. She was in the wrong line.”

I didn’t care. I just smiled and said, “I guess she was having a bad day, poor thing.”

I was in Bliss and I didn’t care.

That’s how our lives can work when we keep our spiritual practices on a regular basis. It doesn’t matter what other people do or don’t do. Life is good and keeps getting better.

Happy Holidays to all of you,

Gail Manishor, RScP
Author of From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life
www.gmanishor.com

Leave a Reply

