IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS

Stop Being a Perfectionist     

    & Start Enjoying Life

 

I keep an almost daily journal. I just bought a new Journal with the poetry of Rumi on every few pages. Rumi was a Sufi poet from the 1200’s. An incident happened this morning which brought me down to earth with a bang. I finally got the message of how to stop being Little Miss Perfect, get free and be myself. I’m breaking loose and opening up. If I don’t do it now, maybe I never will.

I’m determined to bust loose from the Little Miss Perfect persona. Think how freeing that can be for anyone who is of that nature. There sure would be fewer heart attacks and a lot less high blood pressure.

I’m stepping out of my self-imposed box. I’m reclaiming my power. This has been happening gradually. But now, this morning, I’m finally getting it! I feel myself opening up and expanding into a whole new me!

I’ve always been a Traditionalist. Now I’m an Innovator. I turned the page of my journal and read this quote from Rumi, “Why do you stay in prison when the door is so wide open?” I thought “Why indeed? This is the truth for me! Yes. I’m out of the prison and out in the open. There are no accidents. What could be more appropriate at that moment?

My final breakthrough came when I received an e-mail from the Practitioner Core Council about our annual Candlelight Service. The tradition has been that the Practitioners wear all white with our teal prayer stoles as we proceed down the center aisle with lighted candles. I always thought it was beautiful and sacred. Much to my chagrin, many Practitioners have recently been wearing white tops with black skirts or pants. They say it’s more slimming. It also makes us look like waiters.

The e-mail said, “Practitioners can wear red, green or white and Santa Clause hats if they choose.”

What! I thought. “There goes sacred,” I told my husband, Bill. He said he thought it showed that Practitioners can be “good sports.” Well! Never let it be said I’m not a good sport. I thought, “I’ll be an elf, I’ll be Rudolf with a red nose. Well, I don’t need to go that far!

I thought we used to look like Angels walking up the center aisle all of us wearing our teal prayer stoles and holding our glowing candles. So much for angels.

I wonder if my friend, DeLynn has a Santa hat. I busting loose. I’m freeing up. It’s never too late. Another Epiphany!

Merry Christmas to all and to all a Good Night.

Come to our Annual CandleLight Service, Wednesday, December 22, (come early, this event is always filled to the brim)
7 p.m.to 9:30 and have a joyous time. Santa will be there. Check out  Seaside Center for Spiritual Living
 
  seasidecenter.com  

If the lot is full, park in the sports parking lot next door.

I look forward to seeing you at our Joyous Candlelight Service
1613 Lake Drive, Endinitas, CA 92024

Gail Manishor, RScP, I’m the 3rd Santa on the left (just kidding)
Author of From Here to Serenity,
A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life
www.gmanishor.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sueokieffe
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 15:27:25

    next thing you know you will be coloring outside the lines and eating dessert first!!

    Reply

  2. gailsserenity
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:24:11

    Oh My xxx!!!
    You don’t think THAT could happen to me. I’m ready to take that jump into whatever happens next.
    I’m having fun coloring mandalas. It’s addicting. Oh! Oh!
    Blessings

    Reply

Leave a Reply

