GUILT

 How to Deal With Guilt

 

I’ve known many good parents who are alienated from their adult children. It’s sad for both parent and child. Everyone has done something they wish they’d done differently. One reason we are in this life is to learn from our mistakes. Wisdom comes from making mistakes and moving on. We must forgive ourselves for the mistakes we’ve made. If we don’t forgive ourselves we make ourselves miserable. Forgiveness is a freeing experience. If forgiveness is a difficult word for you, use the word release instead. Thinking of forgiveness as release can make it easier to accept.

To reach peace and serenity, it’s necessary to go through a process of forgiveness. First, we have to admit to ourselves that what we did was a mistake. If the person we have harmed is still alive, we must ask their forgiveness, but even if they don’t forgive us, we can forgive ourselves. Release guilt, and surrender it to God. Otherwise guilt eats away at us and can cause actual physical illness. No matter what we may have done, we must face it and make reparation if we can. Life is not about holding onto our guilt, but about learning and growing from our mistakes.

“Sonia Choquette, Ph.D. wrote in her book The Psychic Pathway, “Forgiveness and acceptance break down the final walls between your conscious mind and your soul.” Forgiving yourself and others releases a block that is holding you back from your path to joy, wisdom and enlightenment.

Write down that guilt. Make a list of the things you may have done that hurt others. It is like peeling away the skins of an onion until you get to the very heart of the matter.

Just when you think you’ve gotten to the last layer, like an onion, there is another one to peel away.

Now take that list, read it and with a prayer of release, burn it. The prayer of release can be something as simple as the following:

Prayer of Release

“Spirit, I now release all of my errors of judgment and everything I have done to hurt myself or anyone else. I know I am surrounded and filled with Your love always and forever no matter what I may do. I pledge to make the best restitution I can and I now release the burden of guilt and regret and I let it go. Thank you, God. And so it is. Amen.”

Forgiveness is a freeing experience. The complete release of the issue, both the guilt and the blame, result in a total freedom from the heaviness of the guilt and blame syndrome. Stop saying “I should have” done this or that. Stop the self-blame. God’s love is constant and enduring. You will feel lighter and freer than you have ever felt before.

When we are able to release guilt and establish an honest communication with the children we are estranged from, we may be able to begin to rebuild our relationship with them. Don’t look at the problem, look at the solution. There is always a solution. Stand firmly in the Light of God, which is our support at all times. Love is always the answer.

Years ago my practitioner found a statement in the Science f Mind magazine and shared it with me. I have used it to forgive the hurts I have received through the years but had been unable to completely release, and it has freed me.

Write the following statement 21 times a day for 21 days. If you miss one day you must start over. By the end of the 21 days you will have broken free of the heavy burden of guilt.

 Write “(name) I love you, I bless you, I forgive you. I release you to your highest good as you love, bless, forgive and release me. Now I am free.”

Excerpt:
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide To Transform Your Life
Gail Manishor,
Buy the book:    www.gmanishor.com 

From Here to Serenity

Leave a Reply

