Gail’s Serenity Garden

Joy and Peace in My Garden

Gail Manishor, Author of
From Here to Serenity, A Spiritual Guide to Transform Your Life
www.gmanishor.com

Do you know what my Garden Angel just said to me? “I have plans for our garden. I know what needs doing. The most important thing is to prepare the soil. But you go out and get all excited and buy plants by the carload and distract me from my plan.”

Okay, She’s a little bossy. But, Wow! She’s right. I do that. But I’m compelled and can’t stop. Well, let’s face it, I don’t want to stop.

Sunday I went over to Anderson’s La Costa Nursery. It’s always fun to go there and poke around. Of course, I can’t leave without buying just a few things. Anderson’s is really beautiful and has well cared for plants in interesting and well-designed settings and helpful people.

Sunday I went over and bought more red and orange flowers to fill in and highlight the purple (Whirlwind Blue and the silver plants I already have on one side of my back garden.  I bought: orange snapdragons, red Nemesia, orange Nemesia, Phlox hybrid “Intensia blueberry,” and a plant I’ve been lusting after for a long time named  Very Cranberry Cape Mallow.  I think it’s looking very beautiful and that’s what matters… Well –  my Garden Angel does have something to say about it. Luckily she usually gets into the spirit of it.

“Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.” –Thich Nhat Hanh

Leave a Reply

